The Democracy Archive is an ongoing collection and curation project on the varied trajectories and changing contours of Indian democracy. The aim is to create a repository of things that do not belong to the conventional paper archives of the modern state but serve as vital records and even agents of democratic transformation, e.g. "grey literature" such as pamphlets, posters, handbills; personal photos and journals, oral histories, social media posts, and various kinds of digital ephemera that have been produced in and around different movements and moments of democratic change and unrest over the past seventy years. The Democracy Archive presently hosts three collections:
(1) Long Emergency; (2) Campus Uprisings; (3) Vernacular Communisms.

The Democracy Archive is a part of the "Metamorphoses of the Political" project of the Merian-Tagore International Centre for Advanced Study (ICAS:MP), a Germany-India international research partnership launched in 2015 with the financial support of the German Ministry of Higher Education (BMBF).

The permanent home of the archive is at the University of Göttingen's Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS), a partner-institution of of ICAS:MP


Srirupa Roy

Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS)

University of Göttingen
Waldweg 26,
37073 Göttingen, Germany
Phone: + 49 551 39 20241


A project of the Merian-Tagore International Centre of Advanced Studies: 'Metamorphoses of the Political in the Long Twentieth Century' (ICAS:MP), an interdisciplinary forum for intellectual exchange. Funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Project Coordinator: Srirupa Roy with Rupa Viswanath
Senior Consultant: Kai Friese
Archiving Consultant: Farah Yameen
“Long Emergency” Subproject Coordinator: Kai Friese
“Campus Uprisings” Project Partners:
Ayesha Kidwai, Janaki Nair Researchers: Gajendran Ayyathurai, Rajinder Negi, Sopan Joshi, Farah Yameen, Kai Friese, Chandra Bhanu Murthy Nalamala, Sowdhamini, Saeed Ahmad, Aheli Choudhury, Samim Asghor Ali, Pankhuri Zaheer, Gayatri Balusha, Janani Kandhadai, Saidalavi PC, Aishwarya Adhikari, Karthick Narayanan, Priyanka Seshadri, Leonard Dickens, Manju Parameswaran, Tushar Ghadage
Archiving Technical Team: Janastu (TB Dinesh, Shalini A, Bhanu Prakash G S)